Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, many critics argue that governments should not allocate money to the major sports events, such as World Cup, as they believe that there are other more significant things that they should fund. Others, however, believe such events are beneficial for countries. This essay will examine both perspectives before concluding that authorities ought to invest money to other fields, as they are more critical and frequently neglected.

To begin with, large sporting events are thought to offer numerous advantages for the host countries. That is to say, they may make their nations more eminent within the sports sector. This means that more foreign investors might be attracted to fund sports-related projects there. Moreover, they may also gain a popularity within the tourism sector. The most vivid example of such a success would be Qatar – a small Asian country in the Gulf Region. Recently, they hosted a World Football Cup, which resulted in the growth of popularity among both investors and tourists. However, while it may seem to be a merit, which is undoubtedly true, infrastructure in the rural areas, or the public health, for instance, are overlooked by the Qatar government and other alike countries, that do not develop inclusively.

In other words, while they allocate large amounts of money to alike events, they often overlook these problems. This might result in an increase of respiratory illnesses in Qatar, for example, given the drought in such a specific region. Moreover, the rural communities may still suffer from poor sewage systems, for instance, if authorities do not equally develop infrastructures. Consequently, it is severely detrimental to them, as water supplies are not safe from waterborne contaminants (germs in water).

This is why many believe that governments should not spend large amounts of money on organizing sporting events.

In conclusion, while these events might positively impact to a certain extent, I ultimately believe that they ought to prioritize critical sectors, rather than the sports field, as the consequences of such neglects are irreversible and dangerous to the public.