Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The issue of hosting sports events has attracted considerable attention in recent years. While some people argue that investing in major sporting events such as the World Cup is a waste of money and that this funding should be allocated to more essential sectors, others hold the view that such events offer substantial benefits to a country. I fully agree with the view that such spending on sports is unnecessary.

On the one hand, hosting a large sporting event has a clear benefit for a country. The main advantage is that sports can enhance a country’s international reputation. When a well-known sports team achieves success in an international competition it boosts the country’s image on global stage. A clear example of this is Ronaldo, who won the award for Best Soccer Player, which significantly boosted both Portugal’s economy and its worldwide popularity. As a consequence, sporting achievements can bring benefit for a country.

On the other hand, I believe that drawbacks are far more significant. The main argument is that governments should invest more money for other important sectors. Governments spend huge sums of money on building stadiums or organizing the event itself. However, there resources will better be used for healthcare, which have a long-term impact on citizens well-being. For example, if governments invest more money in the healthcare population’s overall health and well-being will improve, which can also have a positive effect on the economy.

In conclusion, although hosting sports organizations presents certain benefits, the overall impact is overwhelmingly negative. Therefore, I firmly believe that governments should invest more money on healthcare rather than sport.