Some people think that keeping animals as pets at home is beneficial for the family. Others oppose and say it is a bad idea. Do you think keeping pets has advantages? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? explain your answer with reasons and include examples.

In recent days, there has been a growing trend towards keeping animals as a family member. Many people think these pets can bring a lot of benefits to the family. However, there are some opinions that it is a bad idea to raise any species in the household. In this essay, I will examine both views of this tendency and present an argument in favor of why its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, having a pet as part of the family can be advantageous in some ways. Most obviously, pets can bring joy and promote companionship between them and their owners. Some animals, such as dogs or cats, have an adorable appearance and intelligent, vivacious characters, which make huge impressions on people, boost mood, and reduce stress. From my own experience, I used to have a dog when I was a student. Every day coming home after a tired and boring school day, saw a little dog sitting at the door, smiling and waving its tail, I always seemed to be happier and more energetic. Moreover, raising an animal at home is a good thing for children as it is a way to facilitate and develop emotions and social skills necessary for social relationships right from childhood days. Thus, I can say that it is beneficial for us to keep a pet in our home.

Notwithstanding, it’s crucial that owners consider all the disadvantages of having a pet. Though pets are helpful in some ways, they can cause harm and spread zoonotic diseases to people around them. For example, when a child accidentally grabs a dog’s eye or any other sensitive parts of it, it may become aggressive and even bite the child in return to protect itself. Sometimes these bites can lead to some health problems such as rabies, or Ebola. Furthermore, the owner has to spend quite a large amount of money on pet services like food, care, insurance, toys, etc which limits his daily activities.

In conclusion, every coin has two sides and so do pets, they have both pros and cons. Although pets play a vital role in people’s lives, we have to consider all their potential risks to ensure our safety. Taken as a whole given, this trend is more beneficial than harmful.