Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A responsible citizen has been considered an asset to society. While schools undoubtedly open a reliable window for learning the way of being a good citizen, I would argue that, in the long run, parents’ grooming often plays a more decisive role to be a beneficial human being for society.

Schools have often been viewed as the most reliable sources of a kid’s learning on how to be a valued member of a nation. This is because students spend a substantial amount of time in educational institutions where they can gain both practical and theoretical insights of a good citizen. For instance, they can learn about the character of such a member of society through textbooks, seminars, and peer-discussions at seminaries. In addition, they can see practical evidence by observing their tutors, who are the symbols of well-mannered and revered persons of society. Thus, academic institutions play a vital role in teaching students how to be a good person.

In contrast, families, particularly parents, are acknowledged as the primary institutions where children adopt manners as well as the necessary elements of being a good individual. Among many reasons, the prominent one is the ability of parents to control children’s behavior in childhood that sustains for a long period in their mind. Clear examples are many world-renowned persons, who gained lessons on honesty, good manners, and altruism from their parents and maintained them throughout their life. This suggests that, in the long term, parental teaching can help individuals to be the best version of themselves as well as advantageous for communities.

In conclusion, both schools and parents can play significant roles in shaping children’s basis to be esteemed persons in society. However, it is often parents who can leave a long-lasting effect on children’s courses of life. Therefore, children should learn from school, while strengthening their behavior to be well-mannered members of society.