Some people think that technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, some individuals are of the opinion that increasing crime rates are contributed to by technological breakthroughs, while some argue that this trend could lead to the opposite effect. Personally, I suppose that they are more likely to decrease crime rates. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain why I support the latter view.

On the one hand, there are many reasons advocating that technology increases crime proportions. First and foremost, due to modernization in some developed cities like Ha Noi and Ho Chi Minh City, criminal behaviors are implemented more easily compared to the past, such as swindling through the internet or social network platforms. In fact, recent reports revealed that the invention of AI, which is usually used to create videos and audio to imitate the voice and facial features of a real person, was the main culprit behind a series of scams targeting people without opportunities to access and adapt to advanced technology, like senior citizens. Additionally, some techniques can cheat and steal our personal or private information, which can be used for exchange, leading people to live with anxiety and pressure. For instance, several cases involved users losing their Facebook or social media accounts, which combine their identification card or bank account password, resulting in immense monetary loss.

On the other hand, I agree that the development of communication technology is key to discouraging crimes. To begin with, the prevalence of social media usage may offer immediate news related to methods and how victims are cheated, leading to increased awareness among citizens. For example, several criminal investigations or news reports are published and go viral on the internet or social networks, prompting users to take precautions. Moreover, digital items like phone cameras are readily available to share instantaneous social media content that can contribute to preventing crimes in real time. In fact, camera systems are fully equipped in many streets and can record criminal behaviors; for example, running a red light will provide evidence for involved institutions to give correct and suitable punishments.

In conclusion, while some may think that new technology will create more complex criminal activities, I agree that these new technologies can decrease the crime rate, especially given how fast information can spread on the internet in the current era.