Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. Others disagree and say this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the past, parents used all means possible to make sure their children continued their education as high as possible, so they could be successful in life. Nowadays, some people still have a firm belief in that, while others start to argue that they could be successful even though they do not have higher formal education. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and share my own opinion regarding the matter.

Having a university education is a must for some work fields such as law, finance, medical and education. The reason for this is because to be a lawyer, a banker, a doctor or a teacher, you have to learn how the systems work and how to appropriately deliver the information to your clients. For example, if you do not have a university degree in laws, you would have a problem in interpreting the legislative systems, you may not appropriately have learnt the client-lawyer confidentiality, you may be not able to know which articles are appropriate for your case. If you are a doctor but you do not have any formal medicine education, someone’s life might be at risk at your hand. Therefore, for some professions, having a university education is fundamentals.

On the contrary, for other professions like creative fields, sports, and entertainment, having a university education is not a necessity as these professions could learn their professions by having a lot of experiences. For example, if you are a designer, as long as you have good sense of design and a wide range of portfolios, you could be successful in the field even without having a university education.

As a conclusion, whether you need a university education to be successful in life or not will depend on the professions that you want to pursue. For me, having a university education has a distinct advantage as in the university you could learn and do all the mistakes before entering the workforce life.