Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are a number of people who believe that volunteering for a charitable organization should be compulsory for youths. While there are several drawbacks to these activities, these are outweighed by the benefits. This essay aims to further elaborate on my opinion.

This topic has two disadvantages which are related to challenges in time management and lacking financial benefits. To begin with, there are facts that youngsters may have a great burden from the heavy workload and hectic school schedule thus it is easy for them to gain an enormous amount of pressure to control their daily work. As a result, spending time on personal issues or family is the top priority in lieu of unpaid work. Secondly, youngsters put an effort into earning money since they tend to spend money on themselves in an independent way. It is true that they have to present a considerable challenge when enrolling in any jobs without salary. Therefore, assisting people in the community with unpaid work will not guarantee their expenditure.

However, the drawbacks appear less significant than the advantages. On the one hand, engaging in community service can help young individuals develop valuable life skills such as teamwork, communication, problem – solving and so on. Undoubtedly, these skills development play a vital role to enhance personal growth and rich living under their belt. If getting involved in volunteering supports youths potential benefits, it may open doors for future employment opportunities. In other words, requiring young people to participate in unpaid community work allows them to build social responsibility. They will have a chance to meet others who encounter a major of challenging situations, hence fostering their sense of duty and independence. It is admitted that the living conditions of each citizen can cultivate sympathy, since forming human characteristics.

In conclusion, it is argued by some that volunteering without paid work should be demanded of youngsters. Though there are some potential drawbacks concerning time management and lack of financial benefits, becoming volunteers bring youths sustainable benefits regarding skills development and build social responsibility.