Some people think the most important element of a person's life is work. Without a satisfying job, life is meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that in someone’s life job is the most crucial part and life will be worthless if there is no success in the career. I agree with this viewpoint to a certain degree, since job provides the necessary money to survive, yet having a sound health and good source of entertainment simultaneously is also essential to live a meaningful life.

One of the main aspects of job’s role in someone’s meaningful life is that the money it provides to survive. This is to say that to cover the expenses of daily needs, which are food and living cost, everyone needs money; this money can be earn by the job he or she is doing. Take the recent survey of Jaago foundation as an example, where they calculate the average cost of a single person in Dhaka city. The result of this survey is to live in Dhaka city each person needs 5,700 Bangladeshi taka on average. So, this amount should be earned and job is the way to get this. Hence, if someone does not have the required amount, he or she cannot live a decent life.

Another viewpoint hold by many people is that having a sound health and good source of entertainment with a good job is the definition of a meaningful life. In other words, without good health condition, no one can enjoy his/her time in this world. Moreover, entertainment is necessary to spend the spare time after a long day in the job as each job has a definite time span to complete; after completion of the task, he or she will get vacation to refresh his mind and body. Hence, good source of entertainment and a sound health will help him to enjoy this.

To sum up, to cover basic needs, everyone should have a job, but it will not define the full objective of the life. Everyone needs job, a good health and entertainment which refresh the mind and body.