Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In the cutting-edge world, the methods of communication and even the way we get access to information has become various associated with the advent of social media. Although the use of social network has some advantages thanks to its convenient and variety, I believe that these positive impacts are overshadowed by many adverse influences on lacking face-to-face connections and news’ accuracy.

On the one hand, maintaining contact and getting the news via social media is of benefit. Firstly, these such sites eradicate distance barrier which enable everyone to keep in touch with family and friends. For instance, foreign students can call video with their parents every day at any time and from anywhere which used to take a few days for sending letter in the past. Secondly, instead of buying newspaper, now social networks update constantly a substantial amount of information allowed participants approach immediately within few minutes. Nowadays, when I want to buy a product, I can surf Youtube or Tiktok to get more details due to honest review videos which help me make an informed purchasing decision.

On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of misusing this virtual world outweigh its advantages. The main drawback is that contacting through the internet probably has diminished direct interaction which used to be the primary mode of our communication. According to a survey, the teenagers today become feel afraid to join a direct argument, they tend to be more confident when they chat through messages. Another downside of this trend is that individuals are capable of freely posting various content onto social media platforms without strict control leading to the information can be diluted. This effect results in driving readers who cannot distinguish the news maybe think wrongly and can cause a lot of damage.

In conclusion, despite the positive impacts on convinience of life, I hold the opinion that the misuse of social media without filtering of social media triggers more detrimental effects on its users