Some school leavers tend to go for travelling or work for a period of time before directly going to university. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages?

Some individuals take a gap after completing their schooling and do some exploring through travelling or working. The advantages of this are introspection and good for mental health. Moreover, it has disadvantages like disturbance in the flow of education and wastage of time.

On the one hand, the first advantage of this is introspection. When individuals let themselves free and spend time with themselves, then they do self- assessment and come to know about their potentials. For example, in travelling when a person takes photographs of the scenic beauty he discovers his talent of photography and decides to pursue his career in it. Apart from this, taking a time off from study also helps to keep them mentally fit. In their school life, they have to continuously study for around 12 years and this continuousion sometimes leads to stress in their minds. This stress can be relieved by spending some time far away from regular learning.

On the other side, it also has some cons. It leads to disturbance in the flow of their education. Their link with their study de-connects and they do not want to continue their study as they become lethargic. Their mind diverts from studying further to money making. Moreover, it is quite wastage of time. At the time of getting theoretical knowledge they spend their time roaming around. They do not get any theoretical knowledge which is important to get white collar jobs.

In conclusion, taking days off from study has both pros and cons. It has pros like self assessment and maintain proper mental health; furthermore, the disadvantages are hindrance in the link of education and the wastage of time.