Some schools are very strict about their school uniform and appearance of their pupils, while others schools have very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having school uniform?

There a lot of opinions about how schools should regulate their policy regarding school uniform and appearance. Critics are agree that wearing school uniform creates equality between students and discipline. I only partly agree with this viewpoint, as I firmly believe that relaxed dress code offer comfort and self-expression to pupils.

One of the most primary reasons supporting wearing school uniform is discipline. Because they forced to prepare all the attributes every time they go to school, eventually, they will build decency and good manners. For instance, they will understand in what situations they should wear formal and informal clothes. Furthermore, this regulation will promote equal conditions among students. Every student has their economic status, some of them lives in lower-class family, while other live in extremely wealthy family. This disparity can be fixed by wearing uniforms.

Despite all this benefits, having relaxed dress code provides comfort to pupils. Sometimes wearing a skirts and dresses for female students may be uncomfortable, especially when it is cold outside. Moreover, following rules about strict appearance can lead to reduce creativity in students. Although pupils do not feel income inequality, they will feel themselves insecure. For instance, a lot of American schools have relaxed dress code. As a result, they able to express themselves without any restrictions, and they tend to be more confident.

In conclusion, while it is true that strict uniform and appearance promote self-discipline in pupils and in the same time teaching them good manners, having relaxed dress code is essential for self-expression and comfort students.