Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly popular that pupils are encrouraged to spend a gap year before attending directly to university after finishing high school. Although this phenomenon has create both opportunities and challenges, affecting students’ lives in positive and negative ways.

On the one hand, there are various benefits of having a gap year on studying, one of which is that it helps people gain valuable experiences. To be more specific, when expending a gap year on working or travelling, youths get exposed to the society soon. As a result, this trend may create chances for them to broaden their horizons and obtain practical experiences that may help them in the future. Additionally, delaying a year of students, especially ones having disadvantaged backgrounds, may help them prepare enough money for unaffordable tuition fees in university.

On the other hand, there are wide range of detrimental demerits of utilizing a gap year. The main one is that expending a gap year may cause the discouragement of students in learning. To be more precise, approaching to the society soon may make students get used to the ordinary life of working or travelling, leading to demotivation in the determination of students after returning to university. Moreover, delaying a year before pursuing higher education may pose the number of input students burden on universities, when there are a variety of students, the quality of education may decrease significantly.

In conclusion, while encouraging for spending a gap year can provide opportunities for students to have valuable and practical experiences, it also discourages student in learning. Therefore, students should balance between the rest and learning time.