Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many of us choose to take a gap year between Intermediate and Bachelor’s level to enhance knowledge in our fields either by working or by travelling. Although, the gap year have some disadvantages like it will affect one’s reading skills, but I believe that it has lots of benefits like strengthening one’s aptitude for choosing a right profession and imparting lots of skills in them to help them to become a skilled person.

In some people’s opinion, it is important to have a gap year to find a job or to move to other place to become skillful in opting a right profession. For example, if one is doing a job or travelling to other place, it will impart knowledge in them about the fields like which area is best for them in terms of career development. Also, it is beneficial, because it will enhance individual’s learning abilities and skills. i.e. if someone is at job, heshe will communicate with others and give suggestions, so, the communication and critical thinking skills are improved.

On the other hand, the yearly gap in education affects one’s abilities regarding study like the people who tend to have one are more towards listening so the reading skills are affected. For example, if a person joins the university after a yearly gap, he she will face difficulty in reading their own books which are included in their curriculum. This will ultimately lead them towards loss of interest in research which is crucial in bachelors for their final year project.

To sum up, I would say that besides having some disadvantages like loss of reading skills, it is important to have a gap year to enhance one’s professional expertise and to become productive by gaining analytical and communicational skills.