Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

In many countries, the population in the countryside is diminishing as rural residents leave for cities. I believe that this should be seen as a negative development as it hurts local businesses and creates challenges for the provision of essential services for the rural communities.

Large populations of rural people moving to cities can have a detrimental effect on local businesses. As the rural population dwindles, there is a reduction in the demand for goods and services which can negatively impact local communities. For example, low sales volume in the US was observed due to the decreases in rural population. Resultantly, it was inconvenient for Walmart to continue its services there. Local residents lost an affordable goods and shopping centre, and they had to travel large distances in order to buy similar goods.

Not only this but it also imposes stress on the provision of services for incoming rural residents. For example, it can cause an increase in pressure on local services like education, health care, and food security. It also causes an increase in the enrollment in schools and other educational institutions due to which it can become financially impossible for schools to provide quality education and trained staff. As a result, the disparities between students in rural areas and their counterparts in cities can be exacerbated.

In my opinion, the movement of rural people to cities is a negative development as it poses challenges for local businesses and provision of essential services. Efforts should be made to address these issues and revitalize the rural communities.