Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

Nowdays, plenty of young people prefer to choose a gap year, before they begin study of university, meanwhile individuals believe that it is expensive waste of time. This essay we will discuss both views.

One of main reasons why people choose a gap year, is people who don’t know what they want to be and this gap year might give motivation or help find what they want to do, it means that students can go on a tour of different universities, and see the department that interests them, moreover they can find a lot of interesting job or hobby, perhaps even one they’ve never heard of.

The next benefit it is improving the language, i’m sure that a lot of students have some problems with language, and the best way how improve language, it is travelling, they can talk with new interesting people, learn new words and slang they’ve never heard before, for instance, they can go to a local store and try to buy necessary things in the language they’re learning, this will greatly help them develop speaking skills, furthermore it give them confidence.

Let’s move on to the other side, a gap year also has negative aspect for some students. One of the disadvantages it is price of travelling. It is very expensive, flights, accommodation and food require a lot of many, and student with lower income can’t afford this type of holiday. I suggest that for students who can’t afford it, it would be better for them to prepare for exams or admissions in their own country without getting into debt, moreover, there is a risk of wasting a year if there is no clear plan. What is more, a lot of people are experiencing lose of motivation, it is difficult to return to studying after a break, which negatively influences future career choices or future student life.

To sump up, in my opinion this choice would depend on people and their opportunities. A gap year has advantages, but also has some disadvantages.