Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television. What are the causes/solutions?

For the last few years researches have shown that children tend to watch too much TV. There are a variety of reasons why this phenomenon occurs like TV addiction and availability of getting content. So this essay will discuss the reasons causing this problem and suggest possible solutions.

One of the main reasons for this issue is that currently some youngsters are addicted to television. As we all know, there are too many interesting and entertaining TV programs such as sitcoms and cartoons. Some children spend all their free time watching those programs, therefore that approach leads them to addiction. For example, when I was 5-6 years old, I used to waste all my leisure time watching movies and cartoons on TV. And with that routine I could not manage to prepare for school normally.

Another cause worth mentioning is that it is really easy to gain knowledge and information from the TV. There are many educational programs which help children to obtain knowledge. However, after this children are not inclined to read books, because they have already found an easy way of learning lessons.

On the other hand, there are numerous solutions to avoid this phenomenon, like encouraging alternative activities. Parents can promote other activities, like reading, sports, or creative hobbies, to reduce screen time. In addition, they can set screen time limits. Setting daily limits can help manage the amount of time children spend watching TV. For instance, in my hometown there is a special place for children addicted to TV or smartphones, where they can find creative and attractive activities like painting and pottering.

To sum it up, we realize that while some children have increased their screen time, there are several possible solutions to overcome this problem. Setting screen time limits and suggesting other interesting activities might help them to balance their time. With these solutions, children can enjoy the benefits of television without it impacting their development negatively.