Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some members of the public argue that facilitating access to educational opportunities for prisoners can decrease crime rates upon their discharge. In my view, I strongly agree with this opinion, as this can foster a culture of acceptance in society and pave the way for future employment, which can prevent further crimes in the community.

To elaborate, some prisoners were wrongfully convicted due to a lack of justice or improper enforcement of the law. In addition, minors may serve prison time when they are charged with crimes; as a result, they may be deprived of their right to receive an education. This, in turn, may have a detrimental impact on the physical and mental well-being of those prisoners. Consequently, when they finish their sentences, they may contemplate pouring their anger and frustration on other individuals in society by committing murders or vandalizing properties. Therefore, providing educational programs to convicts during imprisonment can shape their attitudes in terms of tackling feelings of resentment and depression toward their communities.

Additionally, when prisoners finish their time, they often face the reality of their situations, as many companies and businesses refuse to hire ex-convicts. The absence of the desired financial stability is a significant driving factor that pressures many of them to commit crimes again and return to prison. For example, in Egypt, background checks are usually required for employees. When previous assaults or offences are discovered, this minimizes the chances of those workers providing for their families. Hence, a fair opportunity of vocational training in skilled trades, such as carpentry or plumbing, can be the last resort for prisoners to continue their lives without being socially or financially isolated.

In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that facilitating educational opportunities for prisoners can reform their tendencies toward violence by enhancing their integration into society after their release. Moreover, this approach can provide income sources that may decrease the crime rate.