Task 2: In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It’s true that agriculture have developed a lot nowadays. However, there are lots of people around the world suffering from hunger. There are some reasons for it and many solutions can be made to handle this problem.

People around the world are facing food shortage due to some reasons. Firstly, the population all over the world is increasing at a rapid pace, which causes an increase in the food requirement. The development of algriculture can not catch up with the expanding food consumption. Secondly, rapid urbanization results in more buildings been constructed and people moved from countryside to work in the offices or factories. The area of soil and the number of farmers are decreasing every year. Finally, the food wasting phenomenon are severe, especially in megacity. People sometimes order more than they need, and plenty of food do not reach the places that really need them.

The number of hungry people can certainly be reduced. On the one hand, everyone should be aware of the severe food problem. If they consider those starving people when ordering food and cherish every piece of cake, less food will be wasted. At the same time, the increasing focus of the agriculture will boost the research. On the other hand, government can introduce new law to preserve the soil used for algriculture, and regulate restaurants to stop wasting. Furthermore, advocating a spirit of food saving can have a huge impact on the public awareness.

In conclusion, there are many aspects to be blamed for food shortage. However, such problem can be addressed by both ethic and law regulations.