Task 2 Traffic congestion is increasing in many cities. What are the causes and what solutions can be taken?

In this day and age, it has been reported that traffic congestion is increasing in many urban areas. While there are some reasons than can explain why this is the case, a number of actions can be taken to mitigate this issue.

Focusing on the causes first, there are two main motives why traffic congestion is increasing. The first and foremost has private cars. Nowadays, more and more people want to have their own cars to use rather than public transports. This is mainly because many individuals driving private cars is more convenient and comfortable than public trasports. As a result, roads become more overcrowded, especially during rush hours. Another issue is the rapid growth of population in many cities. Nowadays, more and more people who live in rural areas leave from the countryside to towns and cities. This is mainly because there are many opportunities for people who want to study or work, meaning that in urban areas, there are many professials who can help students in their own field. As a consequence, there will be more traffic congestion, as more people move to cities.

When it comes to remedies, there are some measures should be implemented. Firstly governments should improve public transport systems, such as buses and subways. If public transport are reliable, affordable and comfortable, many people will choose to use prublic vehicles than private cars, as public transports are cheaper and people do not need to spend more money to go to places they need to go. To make matters better, improving traffic management systems is another solution. The governments should invest in better road planning and modern traffic control technologies. For instance, building wider roads may help to become less traffic congestion.

In conclusion, the reasons why the traffic congestion is increasing are twofold, yet aforementioned steps have to be taken to deal with this growing concern.