The benefits of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh the drawbacks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s globalized world, the influence of English as a world’s language has been continuing to offer a range of benefits. There is a controversial debate over whether the merits of this trend overshadow the drawbacks. Although several disadvantages may arise behind this topic, I believe that it provides far more advantages.

On the one hand, it is evident why some people oppose the idea of English as an international language. Firstly, the dominance of one language can lead to the extinction of other native languages. That is, English has been used in every step of life, in business, trade and daily lifestyle, even in remote countries. The people’s unconscious behaviour shifting to second language can lead to the disappearance of their own language. People constantly started shifting to that language unconsciously, which in turn, leads to the extinction of endangered languages. Furthermore, this movement can raise problems with the identity of the culture. The countries language is closely interconnected with the tradition and custom of the place. If the language disappears, it also takes away ancestral history and cultural roots which is linked to the each other.

In my view, the benefits associated with this trend far outweigh the negative outcomes. In the first place, the adaptation to the second language, mainly to the English can reduce barriers between cultures. People can fluently and confidently can speak with people from all over the world. For instance, a traveler who knows English, are less likely to experience language barriers when they are far away. Moreover, by knowing English, individuals may benefit academically. Many scientific researches and journals have been published in English, which means people are likely to get knowledge and expand their horizons. By doing so, people can get access to any information more easily.

In conclusion, though the idea that considering English as a global language my give rise to wide range of drawbacks like loss of native languages and cultural identity, I am of the opinion that benefits coming from a such trend, global communication and access to knowledge, can overshadow all the downsides.