The children spend most of their time taking part in sports in a serious way (…not only for fun). Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, sports are being widely promoted among children. In this matter, some children take sports seriously while others play them for fun. I believe that it is a positive development since sports benefit young people in all aspects of health no matter it is for the sake of enjoyment or future career.

First of all, sports play a crucial role in the development of children’s health. Getting children involved in sports improves their physical fitness by strengthening bones and muscles. Sports also help children build a strong cardiovascular resistance lowering their chances of excessive fatigue, and shortness of breath. This, in turn, contributes to strong immune system leaving children less vulnerable to various diseases and infections. Kids who engage in jiu-jitsu, for example, have lower risks of chicken pox or inflammation compared to those who do not stay active. Therefore, getting children engaged in sports serves as a positive development regardless of the fact that it is a serious or just-for-fun activity.

To add a further credence to my assertion, when kids are engaged with sports, they tend to develop less dependence on social media. Since they usually spend their time on training, they naturally leave little time for using their mobile devices or get tired by the end of the day which makes kids take a rest instead of doomscrolling, As a result, there will be fewer destructive behaviors among them since they are less exposed to inappropriate content in social media. For example, parents of young people who actively work out reported only little or no negative behavioral changes and rebels which, in comparison, was considerably lower than kids who do not take sports. This is why, sports engagement among children plays an important in their distribution of time, and behavioral changes.

In conclusion, sports always contribute to children positively since they foster healthier development, improved resistance, decreased vulnerability to diseases physically and fewer negative behavioral changes mentally.