The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Currently, one of the major issues faced by humans is the continual increase in the earth’s population. Improved healthcare along with advancing technology are the predominant causes of this problem. This essay agrees that it is one of the most pressing issues faced by humanity, as it has the potential to start a domino effect of other huge problems like depletion of resources, downfall of economy and so on.

Technological innovations in the medical sector and the development of new and improved drugs and medical techniques have contributed to an overall improvement in health care. Due to which there has been an increase in birth rates and decline in death rates leading to an increasing population. For instance, the development of minimally invasive techniques and robot assisted surgeries leads to fewer deaths due to complications and have a lesser recovery time, hence older people are living longer than ever. Additionally, there are fewer complications at childbirth decreasing the mortality of infants and mothers.

This could be one of the greatest problems faced by humanity, because this issue gives rise to numerous other issues. One of them being depletion of natural resources like water, food, fossils, and land due to increasing demand. Furthermore, an increasing population means increasing pollution eventually leading to global warming. For example, rising populations will cause housing crisis and leads to deforestation. Furthermore, there won’t be enough jobs for people, pushing them into poverty, leading to the downfall of economy.

In conclusion, rising population is a major problem for mankind caused by the advances in healthcare and technology. This issue might cause a knock-on effect and lead to various other problems such as housing and food shortages, and lack of jobs slowly leading to economic downfall and using up of all natural resources.