The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent lan guage in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disad vantages to having one language in the world?

Language is the most important element for communication. English is making up its position to be one of the most widely spoken language globally which might lead to having only one language all around the world. Although, it would be a good thing to have a common communication line between everyone, it also has its limitations.

To begin with, the world has numerous languages and it is a tough task for all to know every slang. It is a tremendous thing that the whole population would be connected because of having one language. It builds and maintains relationships with one another and remove the language barriers. This will bring every individual together and solve all sorts of miscommunication. Moreover, this is not only going to have a positive impact on individuals relations but on a wider scale it helps the economies of the countries to increase because of the trading, exports and imports that got because of one common ground i.e., one language.

On the other hand, everything has its disadvantages as well. Having only one dialect can lead to disappointments. Many people can be threatened by this because for most of them language is their identity. So, if there is only one language people might fear to lose their recognition. Additionally, this can also cause social and cultural issues as few communities were diversified into socio-cultural groups because of what they speak. For instance, tribals groups will be agitated for turn up of events like this as they have value their vernacular and traditions more than anything.

In conclusion, there are plus and minus points to have a single dialect. So, it is required to weigh both the statements before making a crucial decision.