The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent lan guage in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disad vantages to having one language in the world?

The surge in tourism has contributed to the rapid rise of ‘English’ being the predominant choice for global communication. While most people forecast that English will become the sole global language, it is crucial to highlight the advantages and disadvantages of the use of English with the shift in recent trends.

On the one hand, the advantage of using English as the main language around the world is the fact that people will be able to communicate in a clear, efficient and effective manner, leaving no space for misunderstandings, leading to a better environment of cooperation. Additionally, the effects of a sole language will fulfil the impact of globalization, laying a proper foundation for business transactions, cultural integration and loss of misinformation. Furthermore, the impact of globalization will further propagate development; economically and culturally.

On the other hand, the negligence of various other native languages will contribute to the loss of linguistic diversity and loss of cultural heritage. Although a common language will provide solutions for various communication barriers, it will also impact the minorities uprooting their linguistic heritage. Moreover, the use of one language suggests that all people have to adhere to a specific skill set leading to social inequalities between nations in levels of speaking reiterating the social hierarchy.

In conclusion, while having English as the universal language has various benefits where it comes to communication, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in this case. The loss of cultural and linguistic diversity could cause a multitude of negative impacts on a global platform leading to backlash from marginalized communities and socio-economic inequalities.