The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent lan guage in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disad vantages to having one language in the world?

Today, owing to the fact that today the most common language is English, many people believe that someday it will be the only language spoken. Although having only one language has it own benefits, it also has many drawbacks.

English is the most popular language today due to the contribution of tourism. Some support that worldwide English will become the mother tongue. Clearly, the use of only one language would make the communication a lot easier. In fact, individuals would understand each other without the need of technology and translators. Secondly, today the knowledge of languages creates a division between humans. However, having only one language would prevent particular people from being prioritized. As a consequence, the world would become a much more equal place.

Many believe that someday in the future societies will adopt English as their main language. Even though globally use of one language has some positive outcomes it could lead to loss of variety of cultures. To explain, the mother tongue is a culture’s symbol, only using English to communicate would destroy the appreciation of other cultures and nations’ history. Lastly, today many people are using hand gestures and mimics in order to express themselves when they have hard time communicating. Evidently, speaking only one language would make communicating easier but it would reduce the use of mimics and hand gestures. As a result, people would have less empathy toward the other person because hand gestures and mimics adds feelings to the communication.

In conclusion, development of tourism aid English to become the prioritized language around the world. This led many people to think that English will become the only language spoken. On one hand, this situation can create some positive outcomes. On the other hand, the negative outcomes can be inevitable.