The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent lan guage in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally What are the advantages and disad vantages to having one language in the world?

The developing tourism all over the world results in the dominance of English over other languages. Some believe that this trend would bring about English being the only language worldwide. From my perspective, this trend have both plus points and minus points.

On the one hand, the dominance of English language offers some obvious merits. First and foremost, there is no language barrier among nations. Should all people use English as the language to communicate, they would not have to tolerant difficulties to interpret their ideas when communicating with the foreigners compared to the world with various languages. As a result, there is no more confusion or misinterpretation while people from different countries communicate. Secondly, this trend offers a more favourable chance to study, work or travel abroad. Thanks to the dominance of English, people inclined to study, work or travel to another nation do not have to learn the new languages. Hence, without cultivate non-mother tongued language skills, people still interpret instruction, newspaper and announcement in the exotic countries.

On the other hand, it is indisputable that the dominance of English language has several drawbacks. Initially, there is no more language diversity all over the world. To be more specific, the dissimilarity in languages creates the diversity among nations, resulting in the special cultural identification of each countries. Thus, the dominance of English put the cultural variety, one of the most crucial spiritual values, to an end. Furthermore, this trend also cause the disappearance of minor language in the world. Since people only use English to communicate and be able to immersed in foreign nations without language barrier, almost nobody desire to use and retain minor languages of ethnic languages, leading to the die-out of these languages.

To conclude, the increased prominence of English language has some advantages by offering the chances not to experience language barrier and difficulty to interpret exotic languages but it also cause a great number of severe consequences such as the disappearance of language diversity and minor languages. In my view, its upsides ought to be take into serious account should people aspire English to be the only language used universally.