The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident. People all over the world wear the same fashions, watch the same t.v. channels, use the same brands and have similar eating habits. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether the increasing uniformity across countries in terms of fashion, entertainment, consumption patterns and eating habits is beneficial. Despite many advantages this phenomenon could bring in, I believe that the disadvantages are more concerning.

On one hand, a school of thought holds that the global homogenization offers some positive impacts. First of all, international brands have to maintain standards in order to meet the needs of consumers from all over the world. Specifically, when corporations compete globally, they are forced to enhance their products in terms of quality and price to stand out in the market, thereby benefit the consumers with better quality goods and reasonable prices. Additionally, globalization obviously boost the economy of many nations by providing employment opportunities for the locals through various expanded operations from big corporations over the world.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits regarding the cultural identity and consumption patterns. One major concern is the loss of indigenous cultural values, in which people embrace the global trends and entertainment. Consequently, the traditional practices would gradually be replaced, leading to the uprooting of the core value from each individuals and manipulation from external authorities. For example, young people today tend to prefer watching international pop stars rather than their cultural heritages, causing the fade of many traditional practices in their home country. Additionally, the standardized consumption patterns are posing a huge threat to the environment. People from different nations consuming identical products can give way to the same environmental issues in distinct parts of the world. Moreover, when global fast-food chains become popular, conventional sustainable farming methods will be abandoned to produce uniform ingredients, resulting in soil degradation and widespread water pollution worldwide.

In conclusion, while the growing similarities between countries may improve the quality and provide economic improvements, I am convinced that the negative consequences are more significant when it comes to environmental sustainability and cultural identity.