The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, as the demand for oil and gas is growing rapidly all over the world, people are considering to encourage the exploitation of remote areas. In my opinion, the cons outwegh the advantages for several reasons.

International oil and gas industries create a lot of jobs especially in developing and underdeveloped countries, it is a fact that many individuals think of when they are asked about the pros of the industry. This is the main delusion, because every kind of improving industry offer many different jobs. For example, nuclear energy reactors need a lot of specialists and regular workers, this is even better for emploees because usually this type of industries does not requier working 12 hours a day in tough conditions.

Talking about the disadvanteges, increasing use of oil and gas will lead to more pollution .

As it is known by every person on earth, excess carbon emissions cause global warming and climate change and most of it is being produced by using oil and gas in order to generate electrecity and just by using it as a fuel. Encouraging the exploitation of remote areas would have worse impact on the environment not only because it will lead to a greater consumption but also because everything near places where they are collected from, would never be livable. A better option for everyone is building nuclear or renewable energy generating blocks , so that the global demand for oil and gas will be decreasing, which will lead to cheaper electricity, fresher air and will cause no damage in general (if it is working properly).

In conclusion, even if a demand for oil and gas is increasing and it has one clear benefit., but, people should not encourage exploitation of remote areas because the disadvantages are more influencive than advantages.