The government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is the individuals' responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is believed that ensuring citizens have a healthy diet is the government’s responsibility, others claim that each individual should be responsible for their own eating habits. In this essay, I will explain both viewpoints before giving my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is critical that governments ensure their people have healthy eating habits. These days, many countries are struggling with a young workforce as their citizens tend to have a sedentary lifestyle and many of them are alcoholics and drug addicts, making the development and the economy of these countries decrease. Therefore, the government should raise the awareness of its people about having a good lifestyle and ban those products that contains harmful chemicals or high level of fat and sugar, such as fast food and cokes. With the support of the governments, their people will build healthy eating habits and can contribute their abilities to develop their country, leading them to have a fulfilled life.

On the other hand, it is true that eating healthy should be each individual’s responsibility. Currently, thanks to the developments and inventions of many products, there is a huge number of harmful products in the markets, and people usually make poor eating choices because they are careless about what they take into their bodies. Hence, this habit may cause some terrible consequences, making them struggle with some diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, obesity, diabetes, and cancer. Therefore, to have a happy life, the habit of eating healthily should be their priority, and they have to care about what they eat on their daily basis.

In conclusion, while governments can ban harmful products in the markets and raise their citizens about following a good eating habit, each individual has to protect themselves by forming a healthy eating habit by stopping making poor eating choices. I believe that both the governments and their people should be equally responsible for following a healthy diet.