The government has the duty to ensure that its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe this is the individuals' responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Considering that health is a crucial issue facing every state today, governments are obligated to guarantee the well-being of their citizens to ensure a dignified life. While certain segments of society believe that maintaining a healthy diet is a matter of personal choice, others argue that it is a state responsibility. There are several statements on both perspectives, on which I will elaborate below.

On the one hand, it might be said that maintaining a healthy diet is a matter of personal autonomy. The primary argument is that eating habits is highly personal, the government’s role should be confined to the provision of public health education. Supporters of this argument believe that once the government informs the public about the risks of certain foods, the final realization of a healthy lifestyle is entirely the responsibility of individuals. In addition, every person has the basic right to freedom of choice in their lives based on their own preferences and conditions. Ultimately, individuals should be accountable for their own health outcomes as a result of their lifestyle decisions.

In stark contrast, those opposing this view argue that the government has a primary responsibility to ensure society’s diet. Firstly, public welfare is the primary pillar of a nation’s responsibility, in which every individual has the human right to an adequate standard of health which must be fulfilled by governments. Then, ensuring public health is more essential to maintain economic stability because a healthy population enhances national productivity and diminishes the financial burden of the state on medical care costs. Finally, with government supervision, they can establish long-term safety and nutrition standards that are directly controlled by experts. Through the strict regulations towards the food industry, the state can assure that the quality of food effectively is maintained, so it can protect society from health risks that they are unable to control individually.

To put it in a nutshell, In spite of the fact that choosing a diet is a matter of personal autonomy, I feel that government’s involvement more secure as it has direct correlation with both economic productivity and long-term national well-being.