The government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicle during rush hour to help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, more and more people use their own vehicles. As a result, air pollution is increasingly serious due to the increasing amount of CO2 emissions from personal vehicles. So some people believe that the government should introduce congestion to people who use personal vehicles at peak hours in order to mitigate air pollution.In this essay,i will explain why I totally agree with this opinion .

The most compelling reason is that this policy might help to ease traffic congestion and cut down emissions from private vehicles, diminishing air pollution. This is because when the cost of travelling increases, road users will be concerned about the amount of money they have to pay for their commute. As a result, people will use other means of transport more than their own cars. By walking, riding a bike, or using public transport, there will be a reduction in the number of vehicles on roads during rush hours which not only eases the congestion problem but also limits emissions produced from private vehicles.

Another plausible reason is that the government can use revenue from these fees to fund environmentally friendly projects. For example,with congestion pricing , governments can make their cities greener by planting trees and flowers alongside roads.This not only adds to the beauty of the landscape but it also can reduce air pollution and make the air more comfortable in the summer.

To sum up, I agree with the opinion that imposing a fee on drivers who use their vehicles during rush hour can help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes. I believe that charging this fee will bring a lot of benefits for all the planet and society .