The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

There are different sectors in our society today which includes arts ,music ,theatre and public services. They are all providing different major roles in the daily lives of people in the society. The Government allocates more resources to entertainment rather than public service sectors. I completely agree that this is a wasteful method of spending by the government and I will explain why.

To begin with , the arts , music and theatre are very important for our nation . At the same time the government’s increased concentration on the growth of this type of activities has been a waste of resources.The new generation have become addicted to this kind of activities and making a new type of lifestyle which has become more harmful and less beneficial to the society. Majority of young people are taking arts and music as their profession and neglect other fields that would have been more beneficial to the society both financially and through their service.For instance, we can see new theatres are being built by the Government, despite these new theatres, it has been observed that majority of the people are more interested in watching movies in their homes instead of going to the theatres. So this is an example of a situation describing the waste of resources in this sector .

Also, the Government does not provide financial support for health services . In addition, some hospitals do not have adequate doctors and nurses , this makes it more difficult to get access to good health care for our young and elderly members of the society who usually need regular health care services. For example, during the last covid pandemic,most of the hospitals did not have oxygen supply and supportive equipments, because of these reasons many lives were lost. Furthermore, the Government should support our education deparment rather than waste resources in the arts and entertainment. The society will generally improve if more persons are educated.

To conclude , I completely agree that investing in music, arts and theatres are a waste the governments resources. Instead, it should support more public services like education and health care.This would improve greatly the general wellbeing of our community.