The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The mass production of consumer goods is attributable to the deterioration of the environment. In my opinion, although the enormous consumption of energy and deforestation are the key reasons for the destructive bearing that the growth of consumer goods production could have, the government could mitigate this problem through tax incentives for renewable energy and by raising consumers’ awareness.

It is justifiable that the environment is being wrecked by overusing fossil fuels as the main source of power for the production of daily commodities. The primary rationale behind this is that the cost of nonrenewable energy is reasonably priced, compared to other energy sources. Massive exhaust emissions that are released from the combustion of fossil fuels are inevitable, giving rise to the poor quality of air in nearby locations. Furthermore, pulling trees down for the construction of assembly plants might have an adverse impact on the environment. Indeed, due to the boom in consumers’ demands for goods, the bulk of industries have to widen their production sites while available land is on the wane resulting from the rising population. Thus, it is only cutting down trees that might grant them more space to erect new facilities, exacerbating global warming. For example, despite being the most developing industrial city in Vietnam, the prosperity of Thanh Hoa is somewhat earned at the expense of its environment.

However, there are an array of viable remedies for the aforementioned issues, one of them being enacting lower taxes for renewable energy. In fact, industries only make use of conventional sources of energy as their comparative price could boost their revenues. As a result, not only should these sources of power be heavily taxed, but the government might have to lower the cost of eco-friendly energy, nudging industries towards using renewable ones. Additionally, campaigns that raise public awareness about environmental degradation should be intensified. Once buyers are conscious of the dire state of the environment and its repercussions, they will neglect single-use products in favor of sustainable choices, hindering manufacturers from launching new products.One example that might perfectly exemplify this case is switching from plastic bottles to reusable containers.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the vast consumption of unsustainable energy and forest clearance could render the rise of consumer goods production harmful to the environment, reducing the cost of alternative energy and providing adequate knowledge of protecting the natural environment for inhabitants might constitute feasible solutions.