The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

There does seem to be a noteworthy problem that the growing trend favoring consumer goods does harm to the environment. There are plausible reasons given to explain the root cause of this effect as well as the communities and individuals can take steps to minimize issues.

On the one hand, consumer goods has been an enduring appealing to office workers who are so busy in a large mountain of tacks that they would prefer fast foods due to its time saving and convenience, rather than cooking for themselves. In doing so, company owners would seek for cost-effective practices in their business, meaning that nylon bags has been widely used to achieve this, and thereby leading to non-biodegradable wastes discarded to the environment. In addition, the proliferation of technology ultimately give rise to the booming trend of online delivery that emission from vehicles contaminates the environment, along with noise pollution damaging the overall atmosphere.

Notwithstanding the consideration described above, government and resident intervention can take measures to improve the concern of environmental damages. The states could impose ‘green tax’ and set legitimate criteria in manufacture for firms to adhere as well as strictly punish to those who break the laws. The extended national budget by levied tax can be subsequently allocated to plantation projects or used to raise eco-friendly schemes that can get people on board about detrimental consequences of unstable practices in business. Once the campaign is able to change the public’s perception, there would be positive transformation in the way people trust and accept a type of product. They have the power to not purchase or boycott a product with less environmental-friendly packaging and thus forcing companies to adapt and closely align with social demand, by using paper boxes instead.

In conclusion, today’s world has witnessed various negative impacts of climate change and pollution, mainly due to commercial goods running on a more commercial line and logistics catering for this tendency. Governments can set requirements and apply tax for business in a holistic picture as well as residents join to exert a pressure on the shift in business process in order to address the tacking problems