The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In this day and age, the natural environment is damaged by the growth of the production of purchaser commodities. My essay will argue both the fundamental causes and the beneficial solutions to preserve the habitat.

First of all, demand for goods is increasing day by day, leading to some causes of environmental destruction. The first reason is the deficiency of awareness of individuals leading to some factories having unacceptable actions which affect the surroundings. For instance, a lot of rubbish, untreated sewage and industrial emissions from factories are discharged outside. Consequently, there is a terrible view with odor lingering and many pollutions appearing, including water pollution, soil pollution and air pollution. Besides, finding natural materials also causes an effect on the environment. When there are more and more consumers, producers must attempt to find the resources in nature and consequently the habitat may be overexploited. For example, the increase in the consumption of jewelry gives rise to mineral exploitation in the land, leading to soil erosion, washing away, and soil damage.

There are a number of viable solutions to help tackle this problem. To begin with the betterment of factories, they should decline untreated industrial waste and make an effort to produce goods in a safe way. Companies should utilize materials that are friendly to the environment as well as using renewable energy like sun, wind and water. However, nowadays, some companies and factories intentionally doing it illegally to enjoy profits. The second solution to deal with this problem is to engage in the “3R” compaign. It means reduce, reuse and recycle. Users should reduce their demand for commodities, reuse and recycle them, with the purpose of the maximum decrease in the production of goods.

In conclusion, using much more commodities can lead to damage to the surrounding zone. There are main contributors to the problem and several measures are suggested to put an end to the situation. Consumers must be aware of this issue and become smart users.