The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The rapid growth of consumerism has led to a significant increase in the production of consumer goods. This, however, has had detrimental impacts on the natural environment. This essay will first outline several reasons for this before proposing viable solutions to improve the situation.

The environmental degradation resulting from the increased production of consumer goods is attributed to two main reasons. First, the exploitation of neccessary raw materials for this production-processed often related to deforestation, mining and many deteriorating activities, leading to environmental destruction and the loss of biodiversity. For instance, producing smart phones need to exploit the rare-earth elements, which contributes to soil erosion, water pollution and different environmental issues, Second, consuming energy and emitting greenhouse gases in production process, transfer and discard consumer goods can exacerbate climate change conditions.

There are several solutions to cope with this problem. The first step is that sustainable production methods should be implemented by manufacturers, minimizing exploitation of natural resources and pollutants into the environment by utilizing renewable energy or recycled materials. The other solution would be for consumers to be encouraged to put effective consumption habits into practice through public awareness campaigns. Therefore, consumers can diminish waste and preserve natural resources.

In summary, the increased production off consumer products threaten to the environment through resource exploitation and energy consumption. However, some feasible measures such a adopting sustainable production methods and promoting environmentally-conscious consumption habits can mitigate this problem.