The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the dramatical rise in producing consumer products leads to an abundance of negative effects to the environment. In this essay, I will elaborate on the particular reasons and several possible solutions for this issue.

Firstly, it can be seen that the overexploitation for the manufacturing process is one of the major causes for the natural pollution and degradation. To be more specific, by mining different types of metals for industry, cutting down billions of trees for producing papers or wooden furniture, thereby causing subsidence, deforestation and biodiversity reduction. For instance, over 70 million hectares of natural forest was destroyed throughout the 15 years period from 1990 to 2005 for wood gathering, which resulted in many species risking extinction. In addition, the emission released from factories may also lead to air and water source pollution, since there are lots of harmful chemical contained in the contaminant, such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, lead, mercury, that can kill both marine and terrestrial animals, widen the ozone hole, which is the crucial factor of global warming.

Therefore, from my perspective, governments should take actions as soon as possible, which can minimize the serious disadvantages from this problem. One of the most effective methods could be enhancing the punishments and promulgating strict laws for companies which leak a large amount of emission to the environment causing severe pollution. On the other hand, they can encourage businesses using renewable energy or environmentally-friendly materials in their products, by offering tax breaks, allowing them to lower the expenses and promote manufacturing eco-friendly goods.

In conclusion, the production of consumer items increasing results in natural degradation and pollution, which can be solved by implementing harder laws and encouraging eco-friendly products.