The increasing frequency of satellite launches and space debris is becoming a threat to the Earth. What are the main causes? What measures can be taken to address this?

The growing number of satellite launches has led to the increasing number of space debris, which may pose a threat to the environment of Earth. This essay discusses the main reasons for this problem and its future solutions.

There are several reasons for the increase in the number of satellites and space debris. Launching a huge number of spacecrafts is mainly done by private companies. For instance, a commercial organisation “SpaceX” has launched approximately 900 satellites in a 2-year period. In addition, the lack of regulations may also be a primary reason. Both government and independent companies launch many uncontrolled spacecrafts without considering their possible consequences. Indeed, one third of all space objects are found to be out-of-date satellites.

To address this issue, governmental support and innovative approach is essential. Firstly, restrictions limiting the frequent launch of spacecrafts should be set. It will significantly reduce the number of satellites and space debris, especially eliminating those that are not essential. Secondly, satellites’ design should be reconsidered and improved. Well-designed satellites with a special system that rockets them back to the Earth after becoming defective would minimize the amount of space waste. For instance, for the past five years, launching those satellites helped NASA to reduce space debris by 9% .

In conclusion, private companies and lack of regulations are the main causes of the increasing number of spacecrafts and space debris. However, by implementing stricter policies and new technologies, this issue can be effectively managed. Addressing the problem now will ensure safer and more sustainable space exploration for future generations.