The internet has brought more problems than benefits to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the amount of internet users is rising day by day because of its benefits. However, some individuals think that internet raises more problems rather than its benefits. I totally agree because it may bring such issues as misinformation, internet addiction as well as social isolation.

Although the internet may be beneficial, there are some drawbacks people should consider. Misinformation, for example, can be one of them. People are not always capable of telling whether the information on the internet is valid. This can bring about some confusion and mistakes at work, studies and life. Needless to say, many individuals often rely on online help when they are sick or need help in a difficult task. So, there is a possibility that they might use unreliable sources or inaccurate information which may worsen their situation or, in the worst-case scenario, end in disasters.

Another reason is internet addiction. People tend to become more dependent and less productive considering the fact that they consistently refer to online sources instead of actively researching. In some cases, individuals use it out of boredom. Besides, the widespread accessibility of online communication through video and audio calls has made face-to-face conversations less valuable and preferrable option. This is why the rate of social isolation has been rising lately.

In conclusion, although the internet may offer certain convenience, I believe people should not overlook its negative impact on society.