The internet is a source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

The global computer network provides a fast and convenient access to people to valuable information worldwide, which seemed to be impossible few decades ago. However, this situation rises concerns about trustworthiness and privacy. In my essay, I will discuss why people should not blindly trust to that source of data, and what measures can be used to improve the quality of information.

There is a lot of information from entertaining resources to professional ones which can be found on the Internet. Nevertheless, every person in the global network can be a victim of online fraudsters. According to safety reports from world leading cybersecurity companies, a number of online crimes are double every year. Despite the fact that the Internet gives so many advantages to the mankind, for some people it might turn into serious problems and drawbacks because of tremendous amount of misleading and fake information. Hence, this situation requires fast and effective solutions.

One of these solutions can be development and usage of special artificial intelligence services, which main task will recognize and block users who post deceitful information in order to cheat others and take their money or personal data. For example, when Amazon, which is a world leader in online trading, starts to use artificial intelligence it helps to reduce the amount of fake or counterfeit goods by 60%. Another idea is that governments should increase online literacy among their citizens. Educational courses could play a pivotal role in this process. For example, a special programme about how to avoid being scammed in the Internet, which has been recently launched in the USA, has already prevented more than tens of thousands of cybercrimes.

In conclusion, while the problem with lots of misleading information is rising from year to year, I believe that effective actions can change the situation to the better.