The internet is a source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

In the contemporary world, the web is becoming the main source of information and opportunities are more accessible to people around the world.The quality of information found online is extremely variable. Anyone can post data and information on the Internet and not all online sources are equally reliable, valuable, or accurate. There should be drastic measures to ensure the reliability of the data posted online for web users’ safety.

These days, in the technological era, searching for things or finding answers on the web is getting more popular. People are very dependent on the details on the net, and unfortunately most of them believe that everything that has been posted is true. Take, for example, the news about the first lady of Ukraine’s president’s lavish lifestyle amidst war versus Russia. The information has been circulating all over social media platforms, and a confession video of an employee of the famous jewelry store, where the Ukraine’s first lady spent millions of dollars. Although it was proven fake, the information created a massive stir and impacted the Ukraine administration negatively.

Some drastic measures should be implemented to control online reports. For instance, there should be more strict security steps before a person can post anything on the internet, just to prove the authenticity of the information and the reliability of the source. In addition, the government should put more teeth and claws on laws about cyber crimes that cover any forms of social media. For example, an individual must be banned from using any online platform if caught posting malicious contents and spreading fake news about anything or anyone. Moreover, individual internet user should limit sharing of information and consider additional protection.

In conclusion, information available on the Internet is not regulated for quality or accuracy; therefore, it is particularly important for the individual Internet user to evaluate the resource or information. Additional safety measures can strengthen the law in protecting the web users from unreliable data.