The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science is all about invention, innovation and experimentation. Some people believe that the primary goal of science is to improve their lives. This essay will argue that, only improving people’s lives is not the most important purpose of science.

Science plays an important role in improving people’s life standards. Every invention from a pen to an airplane makes people’s lives easier. Thanks to science, we don’t have to walk to reach somewhere. There are different means of transportation according to the needs. Another invention gifted by science is the internet. It makes the world smaller and people connected to each other. nowadays internet is not only about connection, there are many things that can be done through it. For example, I did my IELTS preparation through the internet. I don’t have to go anywhere to learn something, it’s in my hand on smart devices.

Having said that, improving people’s lives is not the most important objective of science. There are many things to do aside from improving life. Due to industrialization and non – renewable sources of energy, global warming has become a vital issue. For instance, glaciers in our country are melting and the temperature is rising day by day, which is a much bigger problem, not only for mankind but also for all the living beings living on the earth. Another area where science should focus on is space exploration. This is a subject where we do not have good insights. For instance, recently we can capture black-hole and explore the possibility of life on another planet or universe.

This essay argues that, improving people’s lives is not the foremost goal of science. There are other aspects such as global warming, space exploration which need attention.