The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, it became common that reports of media bias problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some individuals believe it is harmful to society. Personally, i strongly agree that media bias problematic news rather than positive news and I will explain my opinion.

To put it simply, news with negative influence may increase stress and anxiety. Constant exposure to crime,disasters and conflicts can make people more worried about their safety and future. By this we mean that individuals may overthink about issues that are happening around them. For instance, reports about crime may cause social anxiety and isolation from others. Furthermore, this kind of reports may negatively affect individuals mindset by making people feel uncomfortable.

Secondly, it is important to examine carefully the fact that such reports cause social division. People may create stereotypes about certain social group and increase tensions between communities. To clarify this point, misinformation about other communities may be spread from certain group, causing social inequality and social inferiority. Moreover, it may worsen other issues such as racism and nationalism, widening tensions and cause anger of other groups. As a result, division among groups may have serious consequences and even cause conflicts and arguments.

Nevertheless, the fact that cannot be neglected is that reports may save individuals from upcoming issues and media platforms may introduce ways to be aware of some serious problems.

Taking everything into consideration, I completely agree that media platforms focus on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments. This is because certain reports may increase anxiety and cause social division. However, this kind of reports may help individuals to keep them safe.