The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern era, schools are very important for getting knowledge and becoming more successful in life. Some people think the use of punishment in institutions must be stopped and should be used to improve behavior; however, others are against this notion. I totally agree with the latter view and will discuss it in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with the reasons for the former view. First and foremost, people believe that if teachers do not punish pupils, then their children do not get any injuries from their teachers, which will not affect their studies. Furthermore, many individuals believe that if their children are punished for misbehavior, then their children become more mature about how to talk with elder people, so they never think to misbehave with others because they remember the fear of punishment. For example, in the year 2010, a survey conducted by the UNO indicated that 55% of children become more mature about respecting others with the help of punishment.

On the other hand, if teachers do not punish their students, then how can they develop a fear of the teacher, or maybe they fail to get a good education without school punishment, which will affect their future? Moreover, sometimes pupils make a disturbance in the class, which affects other students’ studies, and maybe those who make noise in the class fail to pass their class; so, to remember all these facts, teachers must use punishment to maintain rules and regulations. For instance, in the year 2015, many schools had good results, percentage-wise, and they were rewarded by the government.

In conclusion, teachers should punish their students according to the mistakes they have made, without causing injuries.