The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, workers spent more than half a day in their working places. While some believe that shorter weekends should be applied, I agree with those who feel that longer vacations are more beneficial.

On the one hand, it could be argued that shorter weekends increase employees’ productivity, I personally believe that long working hours cause mental and physical impairments. For example, If individuals work for daily long time without taking enough breaks, they will not able to concentrate on their job tasks. Consequently, a work penalty or salary deduction may be imposed and certainly this will affect the financial state of both the employees and the company respectively.

Another key reason why I believe that long span of work vacations permits people to spend more enjoyable time with their family members and friends. Although, it sometimes claimed that short free time may reduces family issues due to the individuals’ busyness with their daily jobs, on the contrary, I feel that if they are allowed to have enough time to contact with their family member and friends, undoubtedly, this will strengthen their relations and give them the opportunity to have some valuable memories. As a result, employees will be able to return to their tasks with fresh minds and new energy to cooperate with their teamwork and achieve higher- quality outcomes.

In conclusion, despite the argument against having longer weekends, it seems to me that fewer working hours are more productive owing to the allowance for working people to have sufficient breaks periods to rest and restore their energy and to have the chance improve social relations which will lead to job satisfaction and stable relationships.