The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world the government is giving a lot of importance to the psychological aspects and the necessity of the work-life balance in the society. It Is inevitable than a shorter working week will lead to lower levels of productivity and output in the economy so We should study this new trend very deeply.

On one hand, there are so many benefits in reducing the hours that we work mainly in a personal aspect. For instance, We will have more free time to spend it whether on leisure with our family or in create our dream company. And that is the key point of the question, in which activities we are going to spend the extra time that the reduced scheduled has given to us. If we invest this time in creating something that will benefit the society in the future this measure could be a good idea. Moreover, if we consume more on leisure thanks to the longer weekend, we will also benefit the economy if our wages are the same.

On the other hand, the companies will be facing a huge production problem due to the reduced working hours that the government could impose to them. Logically, the wage of the employees will be reduced in the same proportion of the reduction of the hours worked, thus the average level of wealth of the economy will be affected. Whereas, if we maintain the levels of productivity the economy will be unaffected.

From my perspective, the drawbacks that the economy will suffer are not outweighed by the personal benefits that we can earn. In conclusion, the government should not approve this measure and give more relevance to the economic aspect.