The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to some, the length of the working week ought to be reduced in order to provide employees with an extended weekend. Although there are undoubtedly many people who would prefer to have more leisure time, I firmly believe that downsizing the working week will led to the destruction of society structure.

With regards to people, the impact that decreased working hours has had on each individual person has clear drawbacks. Firstly, it is obvious that the holidays will become less valuable if workers have a lot of them, so it can negatively affect their time management and future efficiency. Secondly, it is known that the working hours immediately have dominance in employee’s wage. That is why, compressed working schedule will directly create conditions for cut in salary, which, in turn, will build financially weak existence.

Since extending weekends might lead to a slower economic rhythm, they could potentially affect country’s overall discipline. A longer weekend might lead to a huge crisis in a variety of spheres, as industries and public services would operate fewer days per week. In this case, people will have less opportunities to control their health in medical centers, receive help from local organisations and governs. Consequently, the nation’s social and economic structure could experience reduced disciplined workforce.

In conclusion, the statement may seem as a beneficial advancement for some. However, due to the disadvantages in social and economic fields it leads to, proposition of shortened working week with longer weekends makes me feel completely oppositional.