The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Rest is a crucial part of our daily lives as it refills our physical energy naturally. Some people claim that there should be longer weekends, and working week should be shorter. Personally, I completely agree with their opinion, considering our overly stressful and competitive working culture. The following essay will discuss some viewpoints and opinions before presenting my own reasoned conclusion.

First of all, Consideration of shorter working week is a good thing, as today’s workers don’t usually get enough rest. This is due to the fact that modern society is improving rapidly, thereby rising demands of services and products more and more. Recent research studies reveal that Amazon delivery truck drivers struggle to have even a day of rest within a whole month due to their very tight delivery schedules, thereby damaging their personal lives. Viewing from the health perspective, they deserve longer weekend to fully rest.

Moreover, having inadequate rest as a worker can result in poor productivity. Our brain functions well when we are well rested and full of energy; however, many people see rest as laziness in a negative way. Studies show that taking a short nap during the day can boost our energy, and mental clarity, showing how essential rest is for our body and mind. Many progressing companies in United States are encouraging their employees to take a nap during the day. This is beneficial for both the company and the employee.

In conclusion, individuals deserve shorter working week and longer weekend, considering the extreme stressful working environments since 1990. Having enough rest can help a man be more energized, productive, and less stressful, ultimately benefitting both employees and the companies they work for.