The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people assume that employees should have shortened working hours and extended weekend. I completely agree with the idea for several reasons.

To begin with, company’s output directly depends on the workers’ involvement in job. If people feel exhausted and have no motivation to complete tasks, it can have an impact on the overall productivity. Moreover, some employees can stop working in companies with long working hours. According to the recent problems in Chinese corporations, where a lot of young people refuse to work demanding for shorter working schedule since they feel tired and want to spend their time on themselves. Hence, it is seen that companies struggle with finding motivated staff as well as lose profit because of dissatisfaction of workers.

Additionally, another great example is a new tendency of work-life balance, which is observed in developed countries such as Germany or Switzerland. The principle of work life balance in most European countries is an ability to combine a personal life with work. Moreover, this experience shows great results since there are a lot of motivated people, who are ready to work decent amount of time, having an opportunity not to overwork. It is observed that if employees feel more relaxed having shorter working hours and longer weekend, they can show better results. Furthermore, corporations may avoid issues such as unproductivity and less profitability by finding the balance between working hours and weekend hours.

To sum up, I believe that it is better to spend less time working in a office and have more time on personal needs. Experience from different countries depicts that the more people are motivated and have more weekends time, the better results can be achieved by companies.