The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people have started to question whether the usual five-day working week is still the best option. Because many workers feel tired and stressed, the idea of having a longer weekend is becoming more popular. I believe that a shorter working week has more advantages than disadvantages.

To begin with, having an extra day off can improve people’s health and mood. Many employees say they do not have enough time to rest or spend time with their families. A longer weekend would help them relax and return to work with more energy. In some companies that tried a four-day week, workers even became more productive, which shows that people do not always need more hours to do their job well.

On the other hand, a shorter working week may create some problems. For example, businesses that need to be open every day might have to hire more staff, which can be expensive. Also, industries like healthcare or public transport cannot easily reduce working hours because they must provide services all the time.

In conclusion, although a shorter week might be difficult for some workplaces, I think the benefits for workers’ well-being and motivation are more important. For these reasons, a longer weekend can be a good change for many people.